Homesong

It has been an interesting week; being somewhat bed ridden myself while I nurse my little raspberry back to health after a bout of the pox. While equally exhausted, I have felt more connected to my core and feel more of a pull to be here, to be home.

I remember my first day at Art School, Andrew Putter wanted us to just take one word and work with it for the next two weeks. As fate would’ve had it, I used the word, “home”. I remember in fourth year, I was trying to find a name that would bring my final body of work together; that would define all I had worked on for that entire year, home rung as loudly as ever. That final body of work was called “Here is a Home”. And ofcourse to top it all off; when I did my business course we had a free thinking collage exercise and I kept cutting out the word “home” everytime it popped up in the magazines.

I am not quite sure why I love the idea of home; why I keep revisiting it Perhaps it is a woman thing, perhaps my mother filled our home so intensely that it keeps ringing like a warm, calm ache in my ear. Colleen the quiet giant. But home is important. It is safe and comforting; that’s all I have for now.

So let this be the space you come home to after a long day; that afternoon glow. Maybe you will find a recipe you have always wanted to make (yes I am that  mom now) or you want to learn how to make a safe haven for yourself in your mind, or home. I’ll try my best to create that space here, a little bit xx AA Living

 

Leave a comment